Flat Fee Real Estate logo

VT County Information

There are 14 counties in Vermont: (1) Addison; (2) Bennington; (3)Caledonia; (4) Chittenden; (5)  Essex; (6)  Franklin; (7) Grand Isle; (8)  Lamoille; (9) Orange; (10) Orleans; (11) Rutland; (12) Washington; (13) Windham; (14) Windsor.

There are no county governments in Vermont, but there are County officials such as judges and sherrifs.  Vermont cities and towns have independent municipal governments.  However, in many counties there is some consolidation at the school level, particularly at the high school level.

Each county is defined by geographic boundary lines rather than a minimum or set number of cities and towns.  The counties are situated in the following parts of Vermont:


The most populated cities and towns by county are:

Addison - Bristol, Middlebury and Vergennes

Bennington - Bennington and Shaftsbury

Caledonia - Lyndon and Saint Johnsbury

Chittenden - Burlington, ColchesterEssex and South Burlington

Essex - Brighton and Lunenburg

Franklin - Georgia, Swanton and Saint Albans

Grand Isle - AlburghGrand Isle and South Hero

Lamoille - JohnsonMorristown and Stowe

Orange - Randolph and Williamstown

Orleans - Derby and Newport

Rutland -Brandon, Castleton and Rutland

Washington - Barre, Montpelier and Waterbury

Windham - Brattleboro and Rockingham (Bellows Falls and Saxtons River)

Windsor - Hartford (White River Junction), Springfield and Woodstock